People who shouldn’t teach.

Last night I went to the first session of my English Comp. class.  Yet another teacher who believes in making forcing students to stand up and share private information with everybody in the room, my professor was nearly finished making the rounds when I entered the room.  Ultimately, this meant only that I was caught off guard when I sat down and she came to me.

When I asked her to speak to me in the hallway, she paused a moment and smiled, as if to say ‘And aren’t you just the biggest idiot in the room?’

Of course everybody took the cue and laughed.  When I asked her again to speak to me in the hall, and stood up to walk from the room, she made a joke about my drink being a beer.  This of course drew another laugh from the class.

This is a prime example of a teacher who should not be teaching.  She may know the information backwards and forwards, but she’s still a raging bitch for absolutely no reason, and she quite obviously was getting off at the stand up humiliation she was putting me through.

On top of that, her syllabus contains the following:

It is expected that students are mature enough that they know these behaviors are inappropriate for the classroom: Leaving class too frequently; Ignoring the instructor; Disruptions from electronic devices; Disruptions from food; Monopolizing discussions; Sleeping in class; Repeated tardiness; Refusal to participate; Sharing or copying work; Plagiarism or lying; Off-topic conversation; Undermining the professor’s authority; Verbal or physical threats.

AS AN EDUCATOR I WILL FOSTER MUTUAL RESPECT IN THE CLASSROOM AND I WILL NOT ALLOW A STUDENT TO UNDERMINE ANOTHER STUDENT’S EDUCATION WITH BEHAVIOR NOT ACCEPTABLE IN A COLLEGE CLASSROOM’

Now, I may be wrong, but for somebody who has such a high opinion of what her time and self esteem is worth, she sure can’t follow her own rules or keep to her pledges as an educator.

How am I supposed to believe that a TEACHER who got off on bullying me in the first 5 minutes I was present in the classroom, won’t foster an air identical with what I’ve seen of her so far?

I spent 45 minutes in the bathroom, having a panic attack and getting severely ill, and then I left.  I sent her a diplomatic email, to which she has not deigned to respond.

I’ll be attempting to switch classes this afternoon but I don’t have much hope for keeping this class for the semester.

I hate people.

Leave a Reply

